The Workshop Pré-IETF/IRTF (WPIETF) is an annual event that aims to foster and expand the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) presence in Latin America. The IETF is an international community interested in fulfilling the mission of defining standards that impact the design, use, and management of Internet resources (RFC3935).

Establishing standards for the Internet is long, complex, and requires active participation, particularly of students and researchers. There are many people worldwide actively contributing to the IETF. However, there is a growing need for more fresh participation.

The Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) region's attendance has been relatively low due to many potential candidates not knowing about the IETF or not having real incentives to participate. To change this reality, a group of volunteers, emerged from the IETF – LAC group (IETF Latin America and the Caribbean), created the WPIETF workshop in 2014, aiming to improve the LAC region presence in the IETF processes. Besides disseminating information about the IETF, it is important to provide an environment that allows our technicians, students, and researchers to show their proposals in advance to any IETF meeting. In this context, the WPIETF is a technical-scientific forum for setting technicians, students, and researchers to the IETF, where theoretical and practical works have been presented, in addition to talks and panels.

The X WPIETF invites practitioners and researchers to submit Original Papers and Lightning Papers that fit into at least one of the seven areas of interest of the IETF or topics related to the IRTF research groups.


Steering Committee

  • Alvaro Retana (Futurewei, US)
  • Christian O'Flaherty (Internet Society, UY)
  • Flávio Rech Wagner (Internet Society, BR)
  • Jéferson Campos Nobre (UFRGS, BR)
  • Julião Braga (IST, INESC-ID, ULisboa, PT & UPM, BR)
  • Israel Rosas (ISOC Latin America)
  • Leandro Melo de Sales (UFAL, BR)
  • Lisandro Zambenedetti Granville (UFRGS, BR)
  • Marcelo Santos, (IF SERTÃO-PE, BR)

Technical Program Committee

  • Bruno Kimura, UNIFESP, Brazil
  • Carina Teixeira de Oliveira, IFCE, Brazil
  • Carlos Kamienski, UFABC, Brazil
  • Christian Esteve Rothenberg, UNICAMP, Brazil
  • Eduardo Grampin, Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay
  • Eduardo Lins de Medeiros, Ericsson AB, Sweden
  • Emanuel Coutinho, UFC, Brazil
  • Fabio Verdi, UFSCAR, Brazil
  • Giovanne C. M. Moura, SIDN Labs/TU Delft, Holland
  • Glauco Gonçalves, UFRPE, Brazil
  • João Silva, INESC-ID/Technical University Lisbon, Portugal
  • Jéferson Campos Nobre, UFRGS, Brazil
  • Julião Braga, UFABC, Brazil
  • Marcelo Santos, IF SERTÃO-PE, Brazil
  • Maria Ines Robles, Aalto Univeristy, Finland
  • Mateus Santos, Ericsson, Brazil
  • Matias Richart, Universidad de la República, Uruguay
  • Ramide Dantas, IFPE, Brazil
  • Raphael Rosa, UNICAMP, Brazil
  • Sandra Céspedes, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Post-WPIETF Committee

Support Committee